Egypt Asks IMF for $10bn Loan

Ms. Caroline Atkinson, Director of the External Relations Department at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), made the following comments in response to questions on Egypt during the IMF’s regular press briefing Thursday:

The Egyptian authorities had indicated that they had expected to have a financing need of some $10-12 billion from now through June 2012 from the international community. They’ve approached bilateral and multilateral partners, including the IMF, to provide the financial support for what is their home-grown program. We expect that an IMF team will visit Cairo shortly to begin discussions with the Egyptian authorities on an arrangement. The size and scope of Fund support will be defined as discussions progress.”

IMF webcast:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Here’s the transcript of of the press briefing.


18 Comments

Filed under International Econnomic Politics, Laws and Regulations, National Economic Politics

18 responses to “Egypt Asks IMF for $10bn Loan

  1. Brandon Ochal

    Nice blog here! Also your website loads up fast! What host are you using? I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

  2. Loretta Copley COTA Jobs

    I am going to reccomend your Blog to various associates of mine, I think you are definately on the right track.I found your blog on Bing

  3. flash usb security

    Would you be considering exchanging hyperlinks?

  4. android reviews

    Aw, this was a really great post. In theory I’d like to write like this also – taking time and real effort to make a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and never seem to get something done.

  5. how to stop sleep talking

    I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually not often do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you might have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is something that not sufficient individuals are speaking intelligently about. I’m very blissful that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something relating to this.

  6. make

    There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  7. window replacement

    This is a different sort of opinion that many people dont usually talk about. Usually when I find stuff like this I stumble it. This article probably wont do well with that crowd. Ill look around and find another article that may work.

  8. replacement window costs

    Top page you have here, i dont agree with all the comments but i think its right what you are saying.

    • Thank you very much!
      And I really appericiate you saying that you don’t agree with all my comments – if everyone did, I wouldn’t be doing my job right 🙂

      AllTheBest
      econotwist

  9. MEGHAN TROWBRIDGE

    Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Nice task.

  10. make lsd

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  11. make lsd

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

  12. Pingback: The New IMF Leader: Here Are The Candidates | EconoTwist's

  13. Pingback: IMF Boss In Jail After Sexual Assult | EconoTwist's

  14. facebook poker chips

    Very useful info. Hope to see more posts soon!

  15. Sherwood Giarraputo

    Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing challenge with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss drawback? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  16. Jayme Murrillo

    I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I certainly enjoying every diminutive bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  17. shamtest

    I can’t seem to look at this site from my droid!!