“Storm the Banks”

I was just walking to Foyles bookstore, and on my way I met a bank with smashed windows, and the bank was marked with “Storm the Banks”…

Espen Gaarder Haug


People are getting angry, big banks got bailed out, and there is little moderation in the bank bonuses for the bailed out banks,  and young people are not finding jobs.

“Let badly managed banks go bust, let people who are better at running banks and that better understand risk take over.”

I would also say take a close look at the monetary system, and the monetary policy!

Too bad my camera is out of battery.

“Gresham’s law: “Bad money drives out good if their exchange rate is set by law.” Do this “law” also apply to banks: Bad banks drives out good ?”

Conservative banks that keep plenty of reserves are not able to expand that much in the credit boom and are loosing market shares to banks with no risk aversion.

The risky banks are more likely to expand enough to get too big to fail, and are therefore also more likely to get bail out money…

Well the Gresham law can also go in reverse, but that is typically first when things get really ugly.

From The Collector’s Blog.

Regular contributor of the EconoTwist’s

(www.wilmott.com)


38 Comments

Filed under International Econnomic Politics, Laws and Regulations, National Economic Politics

38 responses to ““Storm the Banks”

  1. Pingback: Europeans Too Depressed To Be Innovative | EconoTwist's

  2. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  3. Sweet web site , super layout, really clean and utilize genial .

  4. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  5. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing skills has encouraged me to get my own site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

  6. Thank you so much for giving everyone such a superb chance to read critical reviews from here. It is often so brilliant plus full of fun for me personally and my office mates to visit your web site nearly three times in 7 days to see the newest things you have. And of course, we are at all times satisfied concerning the fantastic things you give. Selected 4 areas in this post are rather the best we have had.

  7. Hey this is a decent article . Can I use some of it on my site ? I would obviously link to your page so people could read the complete article if they wanted to. Thanks either way.

  8. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  9. I used to be more than happy to search out this net-site.I needed to thanks in your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely having fun with every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you weblog post.

  10. Dude, thats a sweet work, its easy to c that you worked on this a lot.

  11. Useful info I was looking for. Thx for the e-publishing!

  12. This is really exciting, You are a very experienced blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  13. Interesting post and one which must be far more broadly known about in my view. Your level of detail is very good and the clarity of writing is excellent. I have bookmarked it for you so that others will be able to see what you have to say.

  14. Mark Twain ~ A man with a new idea is a crank – until the idea succeeds.

  15. Hi my friend! I want to say that this post is amazing, nice written and include approximately all vital infos. I would like to see more posts like this .