Bad Omen? Black Swan And Doom

Is this some kind of an Omen? The Black Swan guy, Nassim Taleb and Nouriel “Dr. DoomRoubini, together in a photo, with a smile stretching from ear to ear. Well, I can certainly understand the smile – they’ve both made a fortune by telling other people that there was going to be a serious financial crisis. Looking at this picture that Mr. Roubini himself uploaded on Twitter recently, make me wonder what those two geniuses are up to this time?

Nassim N. Taleb - Nouriel Roubini

Nassim Taleb, who recently published a second edition of his former bestseller The Black Swan, hasn’t made much money lately following his by betting against almost everyone and everything with his bearish hedge fund – Universa Investments LP.

But Mr. Taleb doubled his fortune in 2008 when the markets took a haircut of more than 50% (October 2007 – March 2009). In 2009 – when the stock market bounced back about 60%, Taleb and his clients lost 4%, according to the wall Street Journal.

The profit of 2010 wasn’t much better, sources says.

However the strategy is still the same, and the goal is to make at threefold profit of every percent the market drop.

And while waiting for that to happen, the professor/trader/author/philosopher is growing olives in Lebanon.

Mr. Roubini have been busy lately, buying real estate at bargain prices in New York, while calling for another round of quantitative easing by the US Federal Reserve.

There’s a good chance that he’ll get what he’s asking for…

Meanwhile – let’s just see what happens, okay?

Blogger Templates

Related by the Econotwist’s:

5 Comments

Filed under Philosophy, Technology

5 responses to “Bad Omen? Black Swan And Doom

  1. I’d have to acknowledge with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I love reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  2. Amazing article. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m quite impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the first part. I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  3. Great blog. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful information specially the first part. I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  4. Nice article. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info particularly the first part. I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.